Types of Advocacy

We deliver a range of statutory and non-statutory advocacy types, each with different eligibility criteria.

Making a referral is easy. Just complete the specific referral form for the advocacy type you want and send to [email protected].

You will get an automatic response to acknowledge receipt of your referral.

Statutory Advocacy

Care Act

Care Act Advocacy is a statutory service available for people who may have substantial difficulty in being fully involved with decisions made about them and their care and support.


Independent Mental Health Advocacy is a statutory right for patients detained under the Mental Health Act.


Independent Mental Capacity Advocacy is a statutory service provided under the Mental Capacity Act (2005), which aims to empower and protect people who lack capacity to make decisions for themselves.


Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards and Paid Relevant Person’s Representative is a statutory service provided under Mental Capacity Act (2005).

Non-statutory Advocacy

Parent Advocacy

Advocacy is available for parents with learning difficulties, learning disabilities, autism and mental health issues who are going through child protection and family court proceedings.

Advocacy for Informal Patients

Advocacy for Informal Patients, is available for people residing voluntarily in Hollins Park Hospital.

Early Help Advocacy

Early help advocacy supports with issues that are not covered by statutory advocacy in the community.

Community Mental Health Advocacy

Community Mental Health Advocacy (CMHA) provides independent advocacy support to people over the age of 18 years old who access community mental health services in Warrington.